Organ Scholars

Jordan Wong was born in 1996, and is the Senior Organ Scholar of Jesus College, Cambridge, where he is in his third year reading Classics, holding the Prince Philip Scholarship. His daily roles include accompanying the two choirs, assisting with the training of the choristers, and conducting rehearsals and services.

Originally from Hong Kong, Jordan had some organ lessons at Ying Wa College, before going to Monmouth School in 2009, where he was the Malcolmson Organ Scholar, studying with David Lawson. There he played and sang for chapel services, accompanied and occasionally conducted the Chapel Choir; with them he had been involved in the premieres of pieces commissioned by the School, such as Colin Mawby's O God of Battles, and The Truth Sent from Above by Alan Bullard, which he conducted in December 2014. During his schooldays, he also regularly played for Sunday Eucharists at St Peter's Church, Dixton. Jordan was a répétiteur for the School's Choral Society, covering works such as Mozart's Great Mass, and for the Cambridge University Opera Society's production of The Marriage of Figaro. He is an Associate of the Royal College of Organists, and has played in venues such as St John's and Trinity Colleges, Cambridge, St David's Cathedral, as well as the Basilica of St-Nazaire-et-St-Celse in Carcassonne. With various ensembles, Jordan has toured in Spain, Morocco, Malta, and Italy. He has studied with Gordon Stewart, and currently with Ann Elise Smoot and David Briggs.

Before playing the organ, Jordan has been playing the piano since the age of three. He has performed Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Wye Sinfonia at the Wyastone Concert Hall. In February 2018, he was one of the soloists in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 10, for two pianos with the Jesus College Music Society orchestra, of which he is a Junior Co-President in his final academic year. Within the same term he also played continuo for Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No.3 and St John Passion. Jordan was involved in the percussion section of the Senior Symphonic Winds in Monmouth; at Cambridge, he has played percussion for the Cambridge Greek Play in 2017, and now plays for the Jesus College Music Society.

Dewi Rees is the Junior Organ Scholar of Jesus College, Cambridge, where he is in his first year reading music. His role is to assist the Director of Music by accompanying the choirs, taking rehearsals, helping to train the choristers, and conducting the choirs.

Dewi was born in 1998 and became a chorister at Westminster Abbey at the age of seven, where he sang in daily services as well as at events such as Pope Benedict XVI's visit to London in 2010 and the wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge in 2011. During his time at the Abbey he also played the trumpet and the piano, and was subsequently awarded a Music Scholarship to The King's School, Canterbury. Dewi started learning the organ in his second year at King's, taught by David Newsholme. He frequently accompanied the school choirs for their weekly services in Canterbury Cathedral and in his final year played continuo for performances of J.S. Bach's St John Passion in Canterbury Cathedral and the Église Saint-Jacques in Reims, as well as a performance of Britten's St Nicolas with the Festival Chamber Orchestra directed by David Newsholme. Dewi became an Associate of the Royal College of Organists in 2016, winning the Lord St Audries Prize, and has given organ recitals at venues including the Church of St Mary Magdalene, Newark, St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle, and Trinity College, Cambridge. He now studies the organ with Gordon Stewart and David Briggs.

Former Organ Scholars

1919 Adrian Edgar Lucius Burr
1924 John Gerald Hall
1929 Joseph Weston Poole
1929 Thomas Quibell
1932 Vernon Harcourt Rhodes
1938 Hilary Clifton Kelynack
1946 James Donald Cox
1946 Eric William Copperwheat
1948 Peter Hurford
1952 Richard Lloyd
1954 Peter Gay Fletcher
1957 John Rosser Turner
1960 Michael Burnett
1963 David Sheeran Butterworth
1967 Robert Ernest Walker
1968 Michael Baker
1968 Terence Albright
1971 Julian Couzens
1972 Malcolm Archer
1975 James Robert Sydney Wrightson
1977 Henry Roderick Shaw
1979 James A. O’Donnell
1981 Stephen P.A. Young
1982 Geraint Bowen
1984 Christopher Argent
1985 David Swinson
1987 Andrew David King
1989 Timothy Horton
1990 Daniel Phillips
1992 Charles Harrison
1993 Duncan Aspden
1995 Gregory Morris
1996 Julian Thomas
1998 Thomas Corns
1999 Anthony Smith
2001 Samuel Gladstone
2002 James Kennerley
2004 David Humphreys
2005 Samuel Hanson
2008 Thomas Chatterton (Assistant Organist)
2008 Timothy Lambourn
2010 Robert George Dixon
2011 Benjamin Morris
2013 Bertie Baigent